A brief synthesis of the Aplasmomycin tetrahydrofuran

Sean P. Bew, David W. Knight, Robert J. Middleton

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

19 Citations (Scopus)


A highly stereoselective iodocyclisation of the 3-alkene-1,2-diol 9, derived from asymmetric dihydroxylation of the dienyl benzoate 8, gives the β-iodotetrahydrofuran 10 and thence the Aplasmomycin precursor 13, following deiodination and Mitsunobu inversion. (C) 2000 Elsevier Science Ltd.
Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)4453-4456
Number of pages4
JournalTetrahedron Letters
Issue number22
Publication statusPublished - 8 Jun 2000

Cite this